Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

Cleaning & Washing Figures

I realized that the Cleaned Nendoroid & Figma post was quite popular but you were probably disappointed when you saw nothing about teaching you how to clean your figures. Here’s a link to Kodomut’s post which he shows how he cleans his figures, but I will post a method of mine as well.

If you want to clean your figures just to get rid of possible dirtiness then just give them a nice spray of cool-warm water. For large surface areas like bases, pat it dry with a soft towel to prevent water marks. For fragile parts like hair strands, just let it air dry.

If you want to get rid of a stain or mark without basking your figures in water, read on.

First off, I personally use Formula 409. (Do not use harsh detergents!) I have been using for it a year (infrequently) and have had no problems so far. Basking figures in it overnight is completely different though, so don’t do that.

Get a cotton swab like the one pictured above, or a soft piece of cloth. Put some 409 (or other non-harsh cleaning agents) onto it and start rubbing gently. Use more force if it doesn’t come off, but be careful! Sometimes these marks are tough to get off.

A cotton swab may not work if you need to use force, use the cloth instead. You might have to use your nails & scratch from on top of the cloth. Just use common sense & be careful to prevent damage to your figures. Below are some examples:

This was a stain mark. It was very easily removed by rubbing some 409 onto it.

A small paint scratch mark on the Nendoroid joint. For this, I used a cloth and also had to use my nails to scratch from on top of the cloth. Took some time to get rid of, was pretty tough.

Dust particles stuck & some yellowish color rubbed off onto this Figma’s shoulders. Rubbing some 409 quickly took off the sticky dust particles, but the yellowish color required mild-force and a little more rubbing.

Hope that this post helps. Be sure to take care of your figures! If you have any concern or questions, feel free to comment down below or to contact me.

[All photos are taken on the Nikon D5000]

14 responses to “Cleaning & Washing Figures

  1. EXkurogane January 22, 2010 at 23:38

    Hmm… i do have dirts/dust (what are they actually?) that looks like scratches on a PVC figure on 2 of my figures. Even i try to clean it with a damp cloth it is still there, giving an impression that it is a scratch. But i managed to removed them by using some force while holding a damp cloth under my fingernails and scratch the dakk grey marks lightly and gently.

    • FlawlessExa January 23, 2010 at 10:18

      From what you described, it sounds like it’s a scratch mark. Paint scratching onto your PVC. It happened to me a few times when my painted Gundams touch my Figmas & Nendoroids.

      Even gently and lightly touching paint (no matter how dry) it will scratch onto the figures. Try using the 409 method above. It worked for me.

  2. divinelight January 23, 2010 at 05:12

    Will false to choose detergent ruin your figures?

    Don’t have figure, but have Kamen Riders… (I don’t even know the term) small figures from a year ago, but never try to wash them.

    • FlawlessExa January 23, 2010 at 10:27

      Strong detergents will strip and melt the paint on the figures. Some will even melt and distort the plastic.

      I have 2 small figures of Kuuga from those random box things from about 9 years ago. I had alot more, but you can lose alot of stuff in 9 years. ^ ^; Also have a SIC Blade Jack form.

  3. PROtaku March 12, 2010 at 03:00

    Love this post.
    I’ve finally started my (my daughter’s really, but I pay for them so…) figure collection , and I was just telling her about keeping them clean and dusting them and all that… and this post is a great help, Thanks.

    • FlawlessExa March 12, 2010 at 19:23

      No problem. Taking care of your figures is an important part in figure collecting. I personally can’t stand dust on my gorgeous figures!

    • lilymorana January 27, 2013 at 10:01

      (totally unrelated) how does your daughter take care of them? besides cleaning that is. i mean does she put them on shelves, or puts them in a nice display? because i keep mine where ever i can put them (like my work desk) but i’m afraid i might not be taking care of them properly.

  4. fabricerequin November 17, 2010 at 19:09

    Great way of cleaning!
    i should start cleaning mine, its been too long =/
    too time consuming thought..

  5. benz March 27, 2012 at 20:06

    My Figma Haruhi and Yuki’s skirts and collars (both parts are made of a rubbery-type of PVC), seem to be really difficult to clean. I’ve tried using mild soap and the dirt won’t come off.

    The dirt on those parts I mentioned look like darkened smudges or something.

    Apart from Seto San and Miku, what figures/parts did you use that solution on?

    • セイヤ/Flawless April 6, 2012 at 13:49

      My only advice is to rub hard and do it for a while. It really does take some effort to clean properly. It doesn’t have to be that exact solution, but any similar cleaners will do the same thing.

  6. Eking May 8, 2012 at 16:55

    Oh man I’m soo glad I found this post. Had an annoying paint mark left from a piece of my figure’s cast-off… Was bugging the heck out of me while taking photos of it.. Got most of it all with this! Thanks! :)

  7. Erik M. September 8, 2012 at 07:15

    Is cleaning the figures once a month enough…because my house is really dusty and I’ll find stringy bits of dust on them sometimes if I don’t keep them in mind. This really freaks me out! o_0

    • セイヤ/Flawless September 10, 2012 at 15:15

      It’s more than enough really. With the amount of figures that I have now, I can’t even clean them once a month. The occasional dusting is all I could do.

      If your house is really dusty then it’s time to take out the vacuum and clean out the dust. Wiping the dust off doesn’t get rid of the dust. It just stays in the air, ready to fall down on stuff again.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

