Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

HG リボーンズガンダム Reborns Gundam WIP 3

This WIP is very late, as you have seen in my A Week of Figures. Reborns is almost complete. All I have to do are his back thrusters (w/ fins) and Reborns cannon head.

Reborn’s right arm. I am not going to work on the GN Drive until I get some orange paint in April. It has to be orange! I already tried red and I didn’t like it.

As you may know, I don’t do straight builds (straight builds look kinda cool but I can’t say that it’s finished). And so, I want to encourage people to do more than straight builds.

Here are some comparison shots. Left is straight build without anything. Right is sanded and panel-lined, no paint.

Left is sanded and panel-lined, no paint. Right is straight build without anything.

Is it worth your time and effort? You decided. I will be happy with whatever choice you make as long as you take pictures of it. ^ ^

[All photos are from the Nikon D5000]

9 responses to “HG リボーンズガンダム Reborns Gundam WIP 3

  1. bd77 March 11, 2010 at 19:04

    The sanded version looks good and solid. As for me… I just happy with the line paneling. XD

  2. divinelight March 11, 2010 at 21:07

    Of course we must sand, panel line, seamline-removal, nubs-cutoff, that’s necessary.

    the only optional is painting, I guess.

    • FlawlessExa March 12, 2010 at 19:29

      There’s no point in filling seams if you don’t paint. Cement will fill the seam and make it flat but there will still be a colored line and you must paint over it.

      Of course everything is optional and people can still make some amazing work in their own special ways. ^ ^

  3. EXkurogane March 12, 2010 at 01:30

    The sanded one looks solid red. I only sand nub marks, and only if i want to. I’m usually lazy… =.= I tend to leave scratches on a surface when i sand, even with the appropriate grade of sand paper.

    As for reborns, I’m waiting for MG. The fact that Bandai didn’t release a 1/100 means it may be getting a MG treatment, like GN-X. I like Reborns more than the all time top cheater 00 Raiser with his Trans-Am Quantization etc etc.

    • FlawlessExa March 12, 2010 at 19:35

      Sanding isn’t really hard (except for complex shapes >.<), since you have to build it, why not just put in a bit more effort?

      You leaving scratch marks probably because you didn't sand the entire surface, not just the nub mark. Did you use 600-800 grade?

      I doubt that there will be a MG of Reborns. If so, then Reborns will be the largest MG ever made, towering over Sinanju and Sazabi.

      • EXkurogane March 12, 2010 at 21:07

        I might sand the whole kit when i get MG Hi Nu. I didn’t like the blue scheme and saw NAOKI made his Hi Nu’s Blue areas lighter and nicer in tine by just sanding the whole piece and then decals+flat topcoat.

      • EXkurogane March 14, 2010 at 04:07

        The images are in my Dengeki hobby magazine, pretty an old issue though. I guess I’ll post about it, picture scans later this coming weekend. That magazine is at my home. Anyway i dont buy those magazines now, because i can’t find them! I download the scans from SRW.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

