Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

日本町 Japan Town – Dec 20th

On Dec 20th, last year, during winter break, me and my friends went to Japan Town in San Francisco to hang out together. This is my 2nd time there (excluding the times years ago), check out the 1st time we went there. Despite being the 2nd time, we still got lost for 3 mins. :P

This is my 1st time taking my DSLR out far, was a scary exprience. This post is quite image-heavy, close to about 40 photos.

As usual, get off from the Muni (2 or 3) and this will be the 1st thing you see. Always nice to pick a few snacks here before hitting the mall.

They carry a bunch of different Pocky…

…and a whole bunch of other Japanese snacks. Reminds me of Hong Kong. ^ ^

Love these things, very sour. Also indicates unhealthiness. ^ ^;

These look good…never bought any though.

Time to head to the plaza, get out of the store and walk straight ahead.

My friend is sharing his Pocky. ^ ^;

I remember that years ago, this used to flow with water. I wonder why they stopped it now…

Turned around for a shot…

We went to a resturant as soon as we got there, we skipped breakfast and were starving! (I am not in any of these photos because I am the one taking them. ^ ^;)

I used a coupon for a dish of free sushi. Check the official site for some printable coupons. This was the only reason we ate there, I would have preferred Izumiya.

This is the 1st time I took a picture of food with a figure I believe. ^ ^

(Fat) Haruhi: I am drowning!

This is what I ordered: Beef Curry. To be honest, this was not tasty at all, it wasn’t even spicy. When she asked me whether I want it mild or spicy, I thought she meant mildly spicy! No om nom nom for me…

A guy stopped me from taking pictures after I took this one. The store was AutoFreak. I don’t get why no pictures allowed, it’s free advertisement afterall! It’s not like this store has 18+ stuff like the anime store next to it….

Yay, JPN Toys. The 2 female employees this time (it changes every time I go to Japan Town…) was very nice. The prices can feel steep sometimes, but like I said before, it’s like instant shipping.

Also, this was 3 months ago, so don’t expect the same stock if you go.

They have a bunch of Nendoroids here, no Nagi or Kagamiku though. T.T

Everytime I go, it seems that they always have stock of Haruhi… they should get a wider variety of Figmas too.

Some pictures of figures that they were selling. Nothing really interested me, you?

They also offered some MGs on top of the shelves, need more variety for sure….too much Zaku IIs…

My Brazilian friend bought his 1st gunpla (under my influence) which was the HG Gundam Exia Repair II. He didn’t do a great  job on it…then he bought the MG Strike E + IWSP. (He wanted the MG Strike Freedom but it was $145 and I told him that the Extra Finish ver. is no good.)

抱き枕 Dakimakura!? Well kinda, but not the really expensive, high-quality ones. These are still hugging pillows, but they are a lot smaller and you can’t take the pillow out. I call them mini-dakimakura. ^ ^

By the way, does anyone know how to wash these?

This is so cute! It makes me wanna buy them all and jump into a pile of them!

Also, notice the “We do not carry bootleg items” sign. ^ ^

They had quite a bit of magazines. I couldn’t get the Dengeki Hime (the one with the 2D girl) because I am not 18. *sigh*

There would be a much higher chance of me buying their gunpla if only their selection didn’t suck…

By the way, they were having a sale because of Christmas. That’s why there’s all those discounts.

Moving onto another store now. I call this the “Weapons Shop”, I don’t know its name. They carry real swords and other sharp stuff, must be 18 to buy. I have no intentions of owning a sword.

They also have wooden ones out in front if you would like those instead.

This store also sells some accessories, like these glowing things. So shiny…

Didn’t take photos of other stores either because it’s not allowed, or I had no interest in those shops….or I forgot. ^ ^;

So after wondering around the entire mall, we got tired and rested under the Peace Pagoda. We just chat and hang out for a bit.

Such nice weather on that day….

Ok, let’s get back to the mall and actually buy stuff! (We had a rule where we walk around the mall first before buying anything, unless we really want it and don’t want to risk it being taken.)

Some sneaky people put in a Christmas tree while we were out! We took a few pictures in front of it. ^ ^

Yoko-pai! Yes, I actually bought it (if you didn’t get the hint when I asked how to wash it). It was so cute, despite never watching Gurren Lagaan and probably never will, it was the 1st thing I went for when I went buying stuff.

So this is all the loot I got that day. One of the wallscrolls was a present from my little brother for Christmas. ^ ^

So cute…in case you can wondering, yes, I have been sleeping with her for 3 months. Sleeping just got more comfortable. ^ ^

My parents don’t know that because she has been hiding under the sheets. I don’t know what they will think…really…

The same Brazilian friend of mine bought me this for Christmas, a HG Arios Gundam. I was pretty delighted. ^ ^

He was planning to get me the 1/100 Kyrios Gundam (which I would have preferred) but when I was looking at it I said that it was too expensive (about $40…), he thought that I didn’t like Kyrios. T.T

Remember how nice of a day it was? Look at it now…my friends started to make a dash for it. ^ ^;

We ended up leaving early at 3pm. T.T

This is all of the loot attained that day. Everything above Arios is mine, everything below it is my little brother’s. I got a mini-dakimakura of Yoko, 2 wallscrolls, 1 of Suzumiya Haruhi and 1 of Lucky Star (present from my little brother). I also got a Kanji Dictionary, an Action Base 1 and HG Arios Gundam (present from a friend).

Whew, this was a very long post. The next time I am heading to Japan Town will be in April for the 桜祭り (sakura matsuri) Cherry Blossom Festival. I will be hosting a DC Meet-up and I look forward to meeting some DC members.

Now, what should I bring there….

[All of these photos are taken on the Nikon D5000]

25 responses to “日本町 Japan Town – Dec 20th

  1. reno317 March 25, 2010 at 16:53

    I can’t wait to go to Japan Town again but I’ll definitely have to save my next few checks so I can enjoy myself there^_^.

    • FlawlessExa March 25, 2010 at 19:26

      I always ended up spending over $70 and that’s the minimum. ^ ^;

      I am kinda broke right now so I won’t bring too much. But since you don’t come down often, you should enjoy yourself while you can. There are some great food down here too! ^ ^

  2. EXkurogane March 25, 2010 at 18:59

    Well, how big is a dakimakura? My place here only sells their cover/sheet and i don’t really know what pillow size i have to buy when i go to a mall, might end up picking one that is too big or too small. Dakimakura here isn’t cheap, $100 each (just the cover)! i think… But they are already 9000yen+ each in Japan so i think it is at the right price (! checked them out in Hobby Search).

    I want that Shana figure… T.T The beach side one (is it?)… I can’t find a shana PVC till now, well, even a standard school uniform is fine as long she is holding a sword. LOL Yami figure… 1/6 scale, but not as appealing though…

    • EXkurogane March 25, 2010 at 19:04

      Saw you saying it’s $40 each, but the one i saw is like $90 -100… Also 9000yen+ in hobby search…, i assume it is a larger one? (like one’s height?) If that’s the case it is ven harder to find such a big pillow in malls, unless travel 4 hours to another state to get it… T.T Impossible to find a local seller selling dakimakura with the pillow along online (can’t imagine the size of the parcel!)

    • FlawlessExa March 25, 2010 at 19:20

      The mini-dakimakura is up to my ribs. For you, it should be up to your waist since you’re taller than me.

      Yeah, those are the larger ones. Those are about 5ft in height. They are only the cover, but they are of much higher quality than mini-dakimakura. For the pillow, get one that’s up to your neck/chest.

      If you have a Bed Bath & Beyond store in your country, try looking for body pillows, or just body pillows in any stores.

  3. Fabrice March 25, 2010 at 22:25

    Wow nice loot.
    Consider yourself lucky that there is a shop like that, so many things!

    plus it does feel a bit that your in japan =)

  4. bd77 March 26, 2010 at 01:28

    *drools at the figurine part*
    Odles and odles of nendos~!

    Ohh.. Its Yo-ba’giiish~! *nose-bleeded* ugu… X_x

  5. ren March 26, 2010 at 09:15

    waoh.. its so great to have a japan town ard your area.. i wish i have one in my country too.. man. i’ll drool and camp for hours in a place like tt… nice photos btw! =D

    • FlawlessExa March 26, 2010 at 15:15

      I am pretty lucky to have a Japan Town across the bay but nothing beats Japan itself.

      The problem with the hobby stores there is that they don’t have enough variety and selection.

      • EXkurogane March 27, 2010 at 00:04

        Agree, stores always lack choices at my place, and being overpriced, especially malls. Saw that your Arios is $40… O_O that’s close to the price of some MGs.

      • FlawlessExa March 27, 2010 at 14:06

        Arios was $24, which is still overpriced. The $40 was the 1/100 Kyrios, which is way overpriced.

        A year ago, I used to be able to buy 1/100s for about $25…

  6. AS March 27, 2010 at 15:32

    I’ve been to Japan town a few times and have never seen JPN toys ^^;;, I need to be on the look out the next time I go. It’s nice to see that a store has a sign that says that they don’t do bootleg xD, I think my local store has some though ^^;;. How are the prices for figures? I assume a bit above retail as there are shipping and customs fees to pay.

    • FlawlessExa March 27, 2010 at 21:03

      When’s the last time you have been there?

      Figmas are about $35 and Nendoroids are about $45. Not too bad. Still overpriced by my standards though. Not sure how much are the scaled figures.

  7. EXkurogane March 27, 2010 at 16:29

    I just started watching Seto no Hanayome, finished the first 5 straight episodes and i think i might have lost a few dozen brain cells… O_O, asking myself, what is this anime??? The comedy parts… how to describe??? Thumbs up… xD

    • FlawlessExa March 27, 2010 at 21:05

      I am only on episode 7. No spoilers please. ^ ^;

      I am the type that savors things, saving the best for last and taking my time. It took me months to get to episode 7. ^ ^;

  8. divinelight March 28, 2010 at 18:12

    you got dakimakura, lol hope your parents won’t find it.
    Oh yeah, wanna ask you how could you know where is prohibited and where is allowed to take picture with your DSLR?

    just bought mine yesterday, still learning…

    • FlawlessExa March 28, 2010 at 19:29

      You know, to be honest, I want to get more dakimakura. Plus I want to get a pillow for Feena as well. My bed is gonna runout of room and I think they will eventually find out…

      You bought a DSLR? Sweet, which did you get? ^ ^

      The only only way to know is to ask. Some places says ok but some says no. Sometimes there might be signs saying “no photos”.

    • divinelight March 28, 2010 at 22:39

      Canon EOS 1000D.

      I know if it’s “no photo” sign available, but I guess DSLR users are not really many to be found here (too expensive for us), so asking may sounds weird… guess I have to though.

    • FlawlessExa March 29, 2010 at 15:15

      Ah, I use Nikon. I don’t know what’s different about them so I can’t offer you technical advice.

      Tell me about it. >.<
      I was the only guy talking around the mall with a big camera around my neck asking every store whether I can take photos…

  9. ReyJ22 March 29, 2010 at 09:06

    sounds like a fun trip to Japan Town!! Before I lived outside the Bay Area, I use to love going to JP town all the time. After a while, I discovered this awesome comic store that sells a ton of PVC figures. I’ve never seen as much variety in any other store than this one! If you’re going back for the cherry blossom festival, then I’d suggest you should check it out. The store itself is pretty big, and there is so much “figure goodness”. I always walk outta there with more than what I could afford ^^ If you are interested, it’s several miles further down on Geary. here’s the website to the place: http://www.candccentral.com/

    • FlawlessExa March 29, 2010 at 15:18

      Thanks, the website doesn’t seem to have much on anime goods but that’s probably not their focus. We don’t have a car and walking several miles seems out of the question though.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

