Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

HG リボーンズガンダム Reborns Gundam WIP 4

Originally I planned to finish the backside of Reborns before posting this WIP but it seems that I can’t rest without putting Reborns WIP 4 up ASAP. So here’s what I have got so far:

The 1 on the left is a straight build, the 1 on the right is after rough sanding and deepening panel-lines. Take some higher grit sandpaper and smooth it out:

This is how it looks like in the end. One could argue that there’s barely any difference and not worth all the extra time and effort. The 1 on the right took over 30 mins more than the straight build.

Whether you do or don’t paint/mod your kits, I think that panel-lining is a must. The difference is enormous I think. It’s not difficult either.

I am a cheap-ass and don’t wanna spend $4 on ebay for a panel-lining marker so I use these sharpie pens. I don’t recommend this! This stuff smudges easily and then you have to scratch it off (a pain if it’s painted too!). Go spend $4 for some panel-lining pens online.

More of my “sharpening process”. Take this straight build, and turn it into this:

Then take that and turn it into this:

Once again, one could argue that there’s not much difference. I am a perfectionist so I won’t feel satisfied until I give it all I’ve got. ^ ^;

Just gotta finish the other “wing”, the Reborns Cannon head (should I even make it? I doubt that I will ever use it…) and his weapons. Need to get orange paint for the twin GN Drives and the thrusters…

[All photos are taken on the D5000]

8 responses to “HG リボーンズガンダム Reborns Gundam WIP 4

  1. EXkurogane April 3, 2010 at 17:02

    Did you say they look no different? I think after sanding the parts look a lot more solid. Yeah, panel lining is a must. Gunpla looked seriously ugly without panel lines…

    BTW, after glancing at the “autamatically generated” post i realized that you have 1/100 Akatsuki… O_O Lol… I hope Bandai will release a MG for it… Wouldn’t mind paying 12000 yen for a gold MG with 2 backpacks…

    • EXkurogane April 3, 2010 at 17:03

      Oh, ok, that’s not your Akatsuki… My mistake… xD

    • FlawlessExa April 3, 2010 at 19:49

      To me, there’s a big difference, but some could some say that there’s not enough differences to spend extra time on. I personally like to spend more time on it than to quickly build it.

      I don’t have a Akatsuki. Those links at the end of each post has nothing to do with me. ^ ^;

    • divinelight April 4, 2010 at 17:56

      lol, it’s mine.
      I would mind if it’s 12000yen like Sinanju Titanium coating. I hope that Bandai would release RG 00-qanta, not RG RX-78…

  2. Fabrice April 3, 2010 at 17:35

    Mhmm how big is your collection btw?
    anyway looks good, these kind of thing sticking etc is a pain for me since i always mess up D:

  3. Gunstray April 4, 2010 at 20:56

    Boy that’s one hell of filing there, what kind of file did you use? *suspicious* >.>

    Btw Nice to meet a Symmetrical loving fellow^^;;

    • FlawlessExa April 4, 2010 at 21:25

      Just take any file (or stick) and wrap the appropriate sandpaper around it. ^ ^;

      Yes, I like my things symmetrical but asymmetrical can be really cool too. Though I have no idea what you are referring to right now. ^ ^;

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

