Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

Revoltech Fraulein Tousaka Rin

Comrade Akihabaka is launching his new site and as we countdown to his launch date, he is hosting some nice giveaways on figure.fm. His site isn’t up yet so I will link to his figure.fm profile. It’s currently on day 3 (more like a week actually) of 7 so be sure to check it out.

As for me, I won Day 1 of the giveaway, and the prize I own was a Revoltech Fraulein Tousaka Rin. I am not into Frauleins so I didn’t join for the prize, odd that I won. ^ ^;

Now this I didn’t expect, I got the package, and returned to my room and opened it (the tape was hard to pull, should have just cut it ^ ^;). Then…

Much to my surprise, the box got some major damage…Pretty terrible…

I opened the box and straightened everything out. Nothing is damaged except for the box itself so that’s a relieve.

And here’s everything that you get. How much did this figure retail for?

The stand for Rin. Looks pretty decent. The name isn’t backwards but they went with the localization of using the H instead of a U…

And here are the problems when you put her on, the stand is too tall for her. So she can’t even stand up properly…

And her hair gets in the way of the stand. And what’s with the double ball joints being right next to another?

Some easily fixable, critical design flaws there, did the designers even test this thing out?

As for the figure itself, I played around with it for a bit. It’s ok I guess, not really up to my standards. 1st the problem with the head, I think that many of you would agree if I said that the face isn’t attractive.

Now why? It’s because of a combination of things:

  • The head is too small for its body. This is anime we are talking about here!
  • The head is dis-proportioned with itself. She have a big forehead and not much of a head above it, so her head seems flattened.
  • Her eyes are too far apart. I think this should have been obvious…
  • No nose. It’s not as noticeable in the front but it looks like a night from the side.
  • Hands are too big. It’s way too big…bigger than my 1/8 scale figures…
  • Ears are too big. Not really noticeable but it should toned down.
  • That frown. Some characters are made to frown, but Rin is not.

And here is one of the biggest hinder to articulation, the arm can move only that far apart. I noticed this within a minute of holding the figure.

The 2nd thing I noticed, a huge ugly gash…that and it easily pops off.

So this is the way the arm is attached…quite stupid really…even I can design something better…

While the elbow joint is not as noticeable, the knee joint is quite unattractive.

So yeah, a 17 year old just pointed out many big design flaws to you paid designers who made this figure…That said, this figure isn’t too bad and you can make some great poses with her. But you have to keep in mind of a few rules:

  • As the face is an unattractive part, do a pose and blocks or hides the face from view.
  • Because of the design of the base, aerial action poses are the best choice.
  • When doing a back view, be caring of exposing the hip joint. It’s quite…hideous (I was shocked when I saw it).

It’s an ok figure. I liked the clothing sculpt but I can’t say much else. The sword/dagger thing is a little loose. And I don’t get why I have to de- and reattach the sleeve when changing hands. Also, I usually love the smell of opening a new figure but when I opened Rin, she smelled like a hardware store instead…urg…

Overall, it’s a great experience handling this figure. It allowed me to explore more figures and it’s my 1st time seeing a Fraulein. I know that the new ones are better and I am glad that I get to know the feel of a Fraulein.

So many thanks to Akihabaka for the giveaways. I will be joining the future ones too if I can. I wonder if there will be a prize that I really want…

[All photos were taken on the Nikon D5000]

17 responses to “Revoltech Fraulein Tousaka Rin

  1. bd77 July 21, 2010 at 17:06

    Aha. You got yourself Rin, I see. She’s a 1st Gen Fraulein so body and facial abound, and… just watch out when twisting her upper arm, as it “might” come off. Whereas the later Frauleins (series 10, Yoko, which I have) and above fixed those issues.

    As for the back of the knee, it is a trade-off between aesthetics and function, at least she can sit down on the floor in a more feminine fashion. =D

    As for the stand… THAT is a big let down…Good if you’re only use it for display, but not when trying to do action poses. Queen’s blade Revoltech figure uses a figma-like stand.

    Here’s my take between two variations of fraulein:
    http://bd77.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/fraulein-comparison-haruhi-yoko/

    • FlawlessExa July 21, 2010 at 23:49

      Yeah, I knew that she was a old one but a style is a style. The feel doesn’t change much, if you know what I mean.

      Figmas can do the same though.

      I say it’s the opposite. The stand is too tall for Rin, so it can’t be for a casual display. So only aerial action poses. But without much joints in the stand, it fails at that too. ^ ^;;;

      Oh, I remember reading that. One of the 1st posts that I read at your blog. ^ ^

  2. reno317 July 21, 2010 at 17:21

    Ouch that box was arrived in a really bad condition but at least the internal plastic packaging did its job. I wonder why he shipped it in that type of packaging but if you don’t care for the boxes and keep them then it shouldn’t be to much of a bother.

    Btw Grats on winning.

    As for the figure I personally never liked the quality of the older revoltech Fraulein line because they aren’t 100% accurate and the stands are usually pretty crap compared to other figure stands out there. Tho I will say the only good thing about it is that it has the figures name on it and the series name which I would hope figma will do one day.

    • FlawlessExa July 22, 2010 at 12:35

      I care for the boxes actually. ^ ^;
      But I don’t really care for Frauleins so I don’t mind…sounds kinda mean…Well the box doesn’t look good in the 1st place. X.X

      I agree, but only if the names are in Japanese. Otherwise it could be backwards (which annoys me) or use stupid localization like this one.

      I put a skin over Figma bases anyway so not problems for me.

  3. EXkurogane July 21, 2010 at 21:24

    Hmm, the only decent decent revoltech figures I’ve seen is the evangelion characters, maybe due to their plugsuit body the joints didn’t seem as ugly as this figure.

    • FlawlessExa July 22, 2010 at 12:37

      The new Frauleins look really good, better than the Figmas in my opinion, but they are lacking in accessories.

      It might be nice to nice them a try.

  4. Gunstray July 22, 2010 at 03:01

    http://meimi132.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/fraulein-revoltech-rin-tohsaka-my-1st-figure-prize-d/

    Boy are you gonna piss someone off^^;;;

    HaHaHa, but to be fair, Revoltech was more keen on making robot to regular human sculpt,(this is why Fist of the north star revoltechs are f**king badass). And you dont really have much of choice back then.

  5. Fabrice July 22, 2010 at 05:06

    -.- i must be so super lucky not to receive my package damage, well luckily only the box itself was damaged, if it was the figure D: despair.

    She looks decent, havent seen this one before so ye refreshing :3

    • FlawlessExa July 22, 2010 at 12:41

      This figure is pretty solid (blocky as I would describe it), I wouldn’t worry about it breaking.

      Refreshing? Not when you smell it, it’s opposite of refreshing. I wonder if it’s the paint?

  6. divinelight July 24, 2010 at 06:22

    hmm, well i’m not really interested in this model too, not like all figmas that I’ve seen in your blog.

    but get a giveaway, everything is okay for me

  7. redmage20386 July 24, 2010 at 19:25

    wow, i didn’t think there’s a lot of flaw in fraulein figure

    i used to buy revoltech but dissapointed with their paint jobs =/

    • FlawlessExa July 24, 2010 at 19:52

      The new ones are alot better. The facial sculpt is far better and even surpass Figmas in my opinion. But they are still lacking in accessories, articulation and the stand for them.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

