Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

HGリボーンズガンダム Reborns Gundam Completion

It has been so~ long but finally here it is, HG Reborns Gundam in all of its glory! This project was started in early December of last year and just finished in late June this year. So it took me about 7 months (off & on). This was the longest it ever took me to build a model…maybe figures has something to do with it…

This kit was nice to work on, I did some new things and it ended up looking really good. This is also my only gunpla that I bought ever since I started collecting figures and it’s also why it took so long. Another reason is also the fact that I lacked orange paint for a period of time. ^ ^;

Project Sharp
New Techniques: Sharpening Process, Panel-Line Deepening.
Modifications: 2 Thruster Movability,
Mountable Large Fin Fangs on Figma Stands
Time: 7 Months (Off & On)

[I apologize for the inconsistent lighting… ^ ^;;]

The front view, unarmed. Lots of angular shapes but also some round, organic shapes to go with it. The result is 1 of the coolest Gundam designs ever. ^ ^

The side view. It really shows off his shapes.

The yellow accents goes great with Reborn’s color scheme but it’s missing on a few parts like the chest & face. The yellow that I painted on is not as noticeably different in real life than in the photos.

The back view. Without his Large GN Fin Fangs attached, 4 additional thrusters are revealed. The 4 Small GN Fin Fangs on his rear skirt are not detachable though…

Height-wise, Reborns Gundam is a giant beast, standing at 23.3m in Gundam Mode. Above is a comparison with the regular 18m O Gundam.

Reborns Gundam is the tallest Gundam that I have ever seen so far. ^ ^

Reborns Gundam, now fully armed and equipped, 100% more lethal. ^ ^

His main weapon would be the GN Buster Rifle. Long like a sniper, with the power of a cannon. ^ ^

Reborns Gundam’s GN Shield can be opened up, but the 4 Small GN Fin Fangs cannot be detached either.  Atleast it looks cool being able to be open up. ^ ^;

And of course, being in Gundam 00, Reborns is equipped with 2 GN Drive Tao. But I honestly don’t like the appearance of season 2’s Drives…Exia’s or Dynames’s GN Drive casing looks so much better.

Now that we got all of the standard stuff out of the way, photoshoot below:

Hope you enjoyed this photoshoot, and what do you think of my build? Anyone else among our comrades who built a HG Reborns Gundam? I’d love to see their work. ^ ^

There’s a few problems that I didn’t like though. 1st, the hip is only single-jointed. For some reason Bandai didn’t make his hip double-jointed like many other HG 00 kits. 2nd, his Large GN Beam Saber, isn’t large. It’s a regular sized beam saber…3rd, no open hand parts. That something they should always include. That’s pretty much all of my complains for this model. ^ ^;

[All photos were taken on D5000 and took forever to sort out…]

19 responses to “HGリボーンズガンダム Reborns Gundam Completion

  1. bd77 August 13, 2010 at 19:53

    Nice. =)

    Like the shots where Reborns posing with his fangs.

    Well, I only have the 1.5… Which of course a twin of Reborns. XD

  2. Mikee August 13, 2010 at 21:49

    As much as i hated this guy from S2(I pretty much HATE all Bit Spamming Gundams)

    The Design is F**king Royal, especially the colors, Glad you didnt show this guys second form, It just ruinds the whole desgin aspect itself(my personals bashings)

    And I like the chest crest very much^^

    • FlawlessExa August 14, 2010 at 11:40

      Less hate, and more loving please. ^ ^;
      Though I do dislike most UC designs (except Unicorn)… especially the Zaku II. Looks like an eyesore…

      I love the design as well. I didn’t show the Cannon form because….I simply forgot until I typed up the post…not that he can pose much anyways. ^ ^;;

  3. EXkurogane August 13, 2010 at 23:15

    Spectacular work, and 7 months for a HG… O_O I really wish i have that much patience as you did. I’m waiting for a bigger scale (1/100) and I’d wait even it might be another year or two…

    • FlawlessExa August 14, 2010 at 14:18

      Patience have nothing to do with it. I wanted to finish this thing fast too, but 7 months was apparently the fastest I could finish it in. So many troublesome things I had to do for this model. >.<;

      I'd love to see a MG of Reborns. Largest Gundam ever. ^ ^

  4. Fabrice Requin August 14, 2010 at 04:26

    Woa, for a first one, its darn good =)
    good job. i see you managed to be Zen, id probably stop =/ mind i wonder since i dont have one ^^

    • FlawlessExa August 14, 2010 at 14:22

      Thanks! But it’s like my 5th one. This is just the only one that I bought ever since I bought figures.

      Zen? Well that’s apart of my name if it were to be pronounced in Japanese. :P
      I am assuming that you mean patient? It’d take forever to finish him. >.>;

  5. divinelight August 15, 2010 at 20:51

    congrats of finishing.

    like this one too, almost buy 1.5 gundam if not because my wishlist is skyrocketing.

    7months… wow, you sure is patient enough.

    • FlawlessExa August 15, 2010 at 22:39

      I wanted 1 Gundam as well. Reborns’s design is too awesome. But too bad I can’t spare for a model. >.<;

      I don't think I was really patient…I will try to finish my other models faster. 7 months was long for me as well…

  6. heathorn August 20, 2010 at 18:13

    beautiful pose, beautiful shots!
    Really enjoy seeing your gallery :D

  7. redmage20386 August 20, 2010 at 19:56

    okay this is very good

    Very cool looking gundam with a good photography skill is awesome

    anyway, what camera do you use?

  8. Z August 27, 2010 at 21:02

    Wow your Reborns is very, very clean! I like how your panel lines are so deep yet thin ^^. Thumbs up on the extra matte look too :D

  9. Robot Farmer August 29, 2010 at 15:09

    Great build, dude. Looks awesome.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

