Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

Bay Area’s Lame Lunar Eclipse

As some of you may or may not know, there was a lunar eclipse on December 10th, 2011. As someone who is pretty fascinated by astronomy, I decided to wake up early to catch the eclipse.

My alarm rang at 3:30am, and as usual, I hit the snooze for about 30 minutes. At about 4:10am, I reluctantly got out of bed. Afterwards, I proceeded to dress, warm up and eat a bit of food.

As the eclipse slowly starts, I got my camera and my tripod, went out to my backyard and snapped this photo at ‏‎4:54am. I do not have a telescopic lens and as you can see, it would be pretty difficult to take photos of it.

However, if binoculars work for our eyes, then I’m sure it would work just as well for cameras. So I simply held a binocular in front of the lens, and although it was pretty tricky to get it in the right place and angle, it worked fine.

The photo above was taken at ‏‎5:02am.

Quite some minutes later, this was taken at 5:26am.

I’m sure that you may have noticed that this doesn’t look like a lunar eclipse. The Earth’s shadow was there like it was supposed to be, but there wasn’t any redness on the moon at all. For some reason, the red light didn’t seemed to bend enough, even though Japan was able to view it just fine.

At 5:51am, the eclipse approaches totality. However, there was hardly any light left at. The moon still doesn’t appear red and the ground was just pitch black. Soon afterwards, the entire moon was covered and began to set behind trees and houses.

Overall, this lunar eclipse was very lame in my area. However, I’m still glad that I got up to watch it. It really did sucked, but the event itself and the commotion really added livelihood to an otherwise ordinary night. Most important of all is that this event is still a memorable one.

4 responses to “Bay Area’s Lame Lunar Eclipse

  1. bd77 December 12, 2011 at 15:13

    You’re lucky… It had rained heavily where I lived and get to watch… glorious heavy rain with glorious clouds covering the entire sky. orz

  2. Q December 17, 2011 at 22:42

    Oh your shots of the moon aren’t bad given that you are using binoculars over your camera. It’s not like the classical eclipse, but it’s great compared to those who can’t see it in the first place; it was way too cloudy where I am on that day -_-;

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

