Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

Life in Japan 1 – April 2012

Pretty late in writing this just now, but I suppose better late than never. So April marks the beginning of my study abroad in Kyoto at the Kyoto Seika Univeristy. If you have seen my Day 3 in Japan post, then you know about my hardship in finding the university. With regards to the dorm, I was incredibly disappointed in many ways and still continued to be. However, if it was within the boundaries of my room, then I made sure to have it the way I wanted it.

There were many pleasant and also unpleasant surprises. And although at first, I did not think that it was a big deal having to get used the new lifestyle here, I couldn’t naturally find a good way of managing my free time until the end of the month.


Here is how my desk looks like at the end of April. It was originally an ugly long empty desk, but since I have went shopping during the month, it is at least more lively and colorful, even though the ugly and long part didn’t change.

Another shot from a higher angle. Most of which that is on the desk, you can see in the April Loots post.

The only photo of a figure that I took this month is this S.H.Figuarts Kamen Rider Faiz Blaster Form. It looks really nice and cool, but I will think I will give this to my little brother instead. As cool as it may be, I think my little brother can have more fun with it than I can.

During the first half of the month, I spent quite a lot of money on food. And that is without eating out at fancy places, just at the school cafeteria and buying snacks. So in order to reduce money to spent on food, I ate only instant ramen towards the second half of the month. In addition to that, since transportation costs quite a bit as well, I didn’t went to much places to sight-see. I wish that it could end there, but all of the other students constantly speak in only English. Combine that with the fact that I couldn’t make any Japanese friends, all of the above comes together as a not very abroad experience, despite what one might imagine for a person studying abroad. Did I mention that the dorm doesn’t have bathtubs, only showers? Overall, not remotely a good setup, but I intend to make my experience abroad worthwhile.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

