Flawless Passion (Old Site)

Check the URL! New site is at flawlesspassion.wordpress.com

MG ガンダムエクシア Gundam Exia WIP 7 – [GN Drive]

It has been a year and a half since the previous work-in-progress (January 2011) for MG Exia. Although all the photos needed for this post was already taken by March this year, I wasn’t able to actually type the post because of the trip to Japan. Now I believe that how painfully slow it takes me to finish my kits has gotten out of control. I plan to buckle down and clear some of my current projects soon.

Sanded and panel-lined the cuffs around the wrists.

At long last after a lot of hestitation, I finally decided to separate each of the fingers apart. Which in the progress of, I was really scared that the fingers will fly off to the dark corners of my room, never to be found again. Thankfully, none of that happen. The hands look really neat with all of the fingers separated. It’s something that I will probably do from now on for future Master Grades (if their fingers could be split).

Sanded and panel-lined the shin armors.

The photos that follow were taken when I was still at the university dorm, where I didn’t have my (now trashed) light box with me. Do you prefer the background in white, or the purple cutting mat as the background?

Finally adding some armor to the head. I have actually decided to put the stickers for the GN Condensers on, which is why these parts of the head are going on.

Super tiny pieces, which goes onto the face guards. I had to make sure that these don’t go flying into the oblivion.

Puttied up some hollow gaps in the arms.

Putting these parts on to put on the GN stripes(?) on the thighs and the stickers for the GN Condensers on the legs.

And empty this sticker sheet goes, except for the one for the chest. That one won’t go on well and you can’t see the tiny words through the plastic, not to mention that those words were already etched into the plastic anyways. Not putting that sticker on also gives the bonus of letting light shine through the chest condenser if you take off the GN Drive.

Of which, I was very intrigued to put together. After all, the GN Drive was the core of Gundam 00, it is what all the technology in that series relied upon. As you can see, I snipped off all of the parts and carefully examined them before putting it together.

The completed GN Drive was way more detailed than the regular 1/100 non-grade Exia’s non-removable ones. The feature to be able to take out the GN Drive is really awesome, as expected for a Master Grade. It even has its own display base!

I was so excited to see the GN Drive put together that I didn’t paint it beforehand. Afterwards, I went back to paint it, including the clear parts that were disappointingly just plain clear.

Ta-da! Although to be honest, I somehow feel that the lining and detailing was a bit overwhelming. Maybe I should tone it down?

GN Drive inserted!

Here in the photo above, you can see the nice stickers for the GN Condensers on the head, arms, and legs. Just as I said, I didn’t put the one on the chest.

The next work-in-progress should feature the actual GN Condenser parts being put on. If I think that that isn’t enough for a post, then I will probably work on putting the rest of the armors all on. In addition to MG Exia, I have other projects going on, so hopefully I can manage all of them in a timely manner.

2 responses to “MG ガンダムエクシア Gundam Exia WIP 7 – [GN Drive]

  1. 赤信号 June 24, 2012 at 19:42

    Ooh MG Exia! I have it as well and personally think it’s the nicest outta Setsuna’s suits. XD Those GN condensers are just so awesome!!

    • セイヤ/Flawless June 27, 2012 at 09:52

      Yeah! Exia looks so nice! But I really like how MG 00 Gundam’s GN Condensers are more closer to the anime in that bluish-green color over MG Exia or 00 Qan[T]’s solid green.

遠慮なくコメントを残してね! Enter a new comment below. Or, Use the Reply button on original comment for all replies.

